The Queen's Award for Volentary Service

LET'S TALK. 24 HOUR HELPLINE 01481 721999

How do I cover my tracks?

You need to be aware that the history of your visit will be stored on your computer for anyone to see however most modern browsers include a private browsing mode that doesn’t record your visit. This page will tell you how to enable private browsing, and clear any previous history. We recommend you turn on private browing mode before visiting this site.

If you do not want anyone to know that you have visited the Refuge website please follow the steps below, they can be equally applied to any website you have visited. Remember, do not bookmark this site!

The procedure is different for each web browser so we’ve detected which you are using to help you along. Please note that your computer may look different to screen shots below.

Unable to detect your browser. Go to Help – About to find out which you are using.

Internet Explorer 9

Privating browsing mode

To enter InPrivate mode either right click the Internet Explorer icon on your taskbar and select Start Inprivate Browsing, or click the cog icon and choose Safety – InPrivate Browsing. A new InPrivate window will open. Please note that every page you’ve looked at before turning on InPrivate Browsing will in stored in the browser’s history so you will need to delete it.

Deleting browsing history

To delete your browsing history click the cog icon and choose Safety – Delete Browsing History. A new window will appear giving you a list of options. We recommend ticking the ones displayed below, then press Delete.

Internet Explorer 8

Privating browsing mode

To enter InPrivate mode either right click the Internet Explorer icon on your taskbar and select Start Inprivate Browsing, or click the Safety menu and choose InPrivate Browsing. A new InPrivate window will open. Please note that every page you’ve looked at before turning on InPrivate Browsing will in stored in the browser’s history so you will need to delete it.

Deleting browsing history

To delete your browsing history click the cog icon and choose Safety – Delete Browsing History. A new window will appear giving you a list of options. We recommend ticking the ones displayed below, then press Delete.

Internet Explorer 7

Privating browsing mode

Internet Explorer 7 has no private browsing mode.

Deleting browsing history

To delete your browsing history click the cog icon and choose Safety – Delete Browsing History. A new window will with several buttons. You want to click Delete Files, Delete Cookies and Delete History. Click Yes on any confirmation windows.

Firefox

Privating browsing mode

To enter Privating Browsing mode either right click the Firefox icon on your task bar and choose Enter private browsing or click the Firefox button (Tools menu on Windows XP) and select Start Private Browsing. A new Private Browsing window will open. Please note that every page you’ve looked at before turning on Private Browsing will in stored in the browser’s history so you will need to delete it.

Deleting browsing history

To delete your browsing history click the Firefox button and choose History—–Clear Recent History (Tools menu on Windows XP). A new window will appear giving you a list of options. We recommend ticking the ones displayed below and choosing an appropiate time range, then press Clear Now.

Chrome

Privating browsing mode

To enter Incognito mode either right click the Chrome icon on your task bar and choose New incognito window or click the Spanner icon and select New incognito window. A new Incognito window will open. Please note that every page you’ve looked at before turning on Incognito mode will in stored in the browser’s history so you will need to delete it.

Deleting browsing history

To delete your browsing history click the click the Spanner icon and select History. A list of your history will appear, press Edit items and either search for and tick the pages you want to delete or press Clear all browsing data to remove everything.